The Texas Department of Public Safety's Private Security Bureau issues non-commissioned officer (unarmed security) registrations and armed security officer commissions. The Bureau also licenses personal protection officers.
The applicant must meet several generic qualifications. He must be 18 years of age. He can not have been dishonorably discharged from the military. The applicant must not have committed certain types of misdemeanor offenses in the five years prior to the submission of the application. Examples of these misdemeanors include theft, issuance of a bad check for child support, abuse while in an official capacity and other moral turpitude offenses. Additionally several other misdemeanor offenses committed within five years of the application date may also disqualify the applicant although the disqualification may be subject to the discretion of the Bureau. Examples of these offenses include indecent exposure, criminal trespass and breach of computer security. And, many types of felony offenses also potentially disqualify the applicant. Examples include theft, robbery, perjury, larceny, kidnapping and embezzlement.
Texas requires a certain amount of training. Unarmed officers (non-commissioned) must take six hours of Level II training. This training may be provided through the security company that hires the officer or through one of the licensed private security schools if the company chooses to not provide it. It must occur within 14 days of the officer's employment.
A commissioned security officer must sit for 40 hours of Level III training. This training takes place at one of the state's licensed private security schools
During the training the student must score at least 75% on each written examination.
Non-commissioned officers do not have to sit for any continuing education. Commissioned officers must take six hours of continuing education prior to renewing a license.
The individual applying for registration as a non-commissioned security officer must submit an application fee of $33. He will also need to pay at least $25 for the fingerprinting process. Those applying for licensure as a commissioned security officer must pay an application fee of $55.
Every two years the Texas security guard's registration must be renewed. The renewal fee is $33 with an additional $15 late fee if the renewal is up to 90 days late and $30 when the renewal is over 90 days late.
SecurityOfficerHQ.com is the exclusive provider of this free 72 page guide. It features just about everything you need to know before taking the exam and includes The Professional Security Officer eCourse. You may get your copy for free right now only at SecurityOfficerHQ.com! Submit your name and email to receive your copy via email or click here to learn more about this guide.
SecurityOfficerHQ.com is the exclusive provider of this free 140 page ebook. Less-comprehensive versions sell for $24, but, for the time being, you may get your copy for free right now only at SecurityOfficerHQ.com! Submit your name and email to receive your copy via email or click here to learn more about the book.
The forty question, free practice exam will test your unarmed security knowledge. It's the perfect test prep for those who must sit an exam before getting licensing.